BY SEAN CLARK

[In this feature, we highlight a handful of the best book reviews appearing over the weekend in major newspapers.]

.

The Fractal Prince, by Hannu Rajaniemi. Reviewed by Paul Di Fillipo (Barnes & Noble Review).

I really enjoy sci-fi, but I actually read very little of it. My finger’s certainly not on the pulse of the genre, so I’d never heard of The Quantum Thief. But after reading this review (“Rajaniemi’s book exemplified all the state-of-the-art techniques of the field, as well as deploying a boatload of hot posthuman, postmodern tropes while still honoring so many classics of imaginative literature.”) I immediately ordered a copy. The Fractal Prince, which came out overseas last year, is a sequel to that acclaimed debut by the Finnish Rajaniemi (he writes in English), and the midsection of a planned trilogy. I’m not sure if that’s something to be excited about or not, but it sounds like maybe it is. I’ll let you know.

Find it on Goodreads.

.

See Now Then, by Jamaica KincaidReviewed by Felicia R. Lee (New York Times).

I’ve never read any of Kincaid’s books, but some of her nature writing that used to appear in The New Yorker was pretty damn good. Like her other books this one looks to draw from a lot of autobigraphical details, but she warns not to read it too literally. (Speaking of, remember when Aaron Block called Dollhouse a roman á clef?) All the reviews I can across were pretty positive, so fans of “poetic, nonlinear” novels should certainly give it a look.

Find it on Goodreads.

.

Quickly: Kakutani weighs in on Karen Russell’s latest, while Dirda digs up another lost classic (and another!). I want to give Jess Walter’s stories a shot, if I can find the time. This essay on translation is worth a read. Hey ladies, check out this gallery of “chesty men books.”

 

