BY SEAN CLARK

[In this feature, we highlight a handful of the best book reviews appearing over the weekend in major newspapers.]

.

Sweet Tooth, by Ian McEwan. Reviewed by Janelle Brown (Los Angeles Times).

I’ve been on the lookout for reviews of Sweet Tooth the last couple weeks, and disappointed there haven’t been more. I’m partway through and really enjoying it, but more for the writing than the somewhat dry plot. Brown is much more tepid on it, but I can’t really argue with her reading of the book. Despite that, and despite being scared of the “‘Atonement’-like twist” Brown warns, so far I’m content to keep Sweet Tooth as one of my top picks for this year.

Find it on Goodreads.

.

In Praise of Messy Lives, by Katie Roiphe. Reviewed by Dwight Garner (New York Times).

“Lean and literate…with a frightening ration or velocity to torque” is an eloquent way to describe a collection of essays, and a description that almost singlehandedly sells me on this book. I don’t know anything about Roiphe, but her apparant reputation for getting under people’s skin piques my curiosity. Sticking this one on my Christmas list.

Find it on Goodreads.

.

Hallucinations, by Oliver Sacks. Reviewed by Melissa H. Pierson (Barnes & Noble Review)

Do I like Oliver Sacks. Yes. Do I want to read a “first-person literal travelogue [in which] ¬†experimentation followed a scholarly grounding in the literature of drug taking: he downed LSD, Artane, morning glory seeds, morphine, and others, and the result is a phantasmagoric addition¬†to the library that already contains De Quincey, Baudelaire, Huxley?” Absolutely.

Find it on Goodreads.

.

Quickly: A Nolan Ryan cookbook? Why not? Try Choose Your Own Adventure Hamlet! WaPo has their Best Books of 2012 lists up. We’ve begun running ours this week, look for my picks later today and follow the others’ as they come in here.

