BY SEAN CLARK

[In this feature, we highlight a handful of the best book reviews appearing over the weekend in major newspapers.]

.

Spillover, by David Quammen. Reviewed by Charles McGrath (New York Times). 

I may have plague on my mind lately, but this book sounds really interesting. It’s a nonfic all about infectious disease and pandemic, and the real hook is that Quammen supposedly writes in a very literary style. Faulkner is invoked more than once here. I usually only have it in me for a few nonfics a year, and I’m working on one now, so I don’t know if I’ll get to this one or not. But it’s worth looking out for. I’ll believe the Faulkner comparison when I see it–but I kinda want to see it.

Find it on Goodreads.

..

The Art Forger, by B.A. Shapiro. Reviewed by Art Taylor (Washington Post).

This debut thriller about (shocker) an art forger sounds fairly middling and worth a pass. But I enjoyed reading the review. Taylor does a fine job of neatly pinpointing the book’s weaknesses without tearing it to shreds. In fact, it sounds like this may be a book with plenty to like for the right reader.

Find it on Goodreads.

.

Quickly: The Humble eBook Bundle raised tons of money for charity. If you missed out on that, StoryBundle has got a Halloween themed offering that might be of interest.

